“I live in sin, to kill myself I live; no longer my life my own, but sin’s; my good is given to me by heaven, my evil by myself, by my free will, of which I am deprived.” Michelangelo

Eating disorders are complex and personal, and I don’t believe I’ve even come relatively close to tackling the topic in this short. However, I wanted to explore the role of free will in overcoming addiction, and illustrate how a change in perspective can shut out our negative inner voices and shed light on the power of choice. To clarify, this by no means is an ode to anti-depressants, as the pill bottle, and the inner thoughts projected onto it (via sticky note), is a representation of our ability to wake up and make a minor choice that changes the outcome of our entire day/year/life. I don’t mean to delegitimize physical addiction, or the role of brain chemistry in disordered living, but rather to highlight that there is always an alternative trajectory to our immediate actions. Instead of reacting this way to our anxieties we can look at it that way, and by simply being aware of our thought processes and triggers, we can begin to overcome them with at first forced, but then gradually subconscious, shifts in outlook. Humans are stubborn, addictions are draining, and this film can’t change that. My hope is that small pieces of expression, via images, words, concepts, etc, can heighten awareness and destigmatize ‘taboo’ topics, making it easier for us to get help for ourselves and those who might need it. We’re all looking for the same peace of mind–we just manifest our fears of never finding it in different ways.

Always looking for feedback! Enjoy xx

